Why do Yoga for Overall Well-Being


Why do Yoga for Overall Well-Being

According to the World Health Organization, yoga plays an important role in overall well-being of people. Yoga is a discipline that includes predefined body positions, controlled breathing and meditation. The main goal is to achieve a state of tranquility and deep spiritual insight. This ancient technique originated in India and is now practiced all over the world by numerous people. Regular practice of yoga poses helps improve strength, stamina, flexibility and mental well-being.
Following are benefits of some important yoga poses:

Chanting the Om Mantra

Practice of Om Mantra helps to heal tension, high blood pressure, constipation, migraine, indigestion, gastric problems, heart problems and stammering, among others. You can improve spiritual brightness by chanting the Om Mantra. Many believe that chanting this mantra also helps you to receive the blessings of the Almighty.

Thunderbolt pose (Bajrasana)

Bajrasana is the only posture in yoga that can be performed after meals. You can stay away from gastric problems by practicing it. It is extremely useful for curing heart disease, tension, high blood pressure and pain in the calves, legs and knees.

Bow pose (Dhanurasana)

Dhanurasana aids to enhance digestion by triggering gastric secretions. It is recommended for patients with diabetes, neck pain, back pain and menstrual disorders. It’s not advised for patients of hernia, colitis and slipped disc. People with hypertension and heart disease should practice this asana under proper guidance.

Nadi Shodhana Pranayama

This pranayama ensures nourishment of the entire body by ensuring additional supply of oxygen, efficient expulsion of carbon dioxide and purification of the blood. It reduces the levels of anxiety and stress, in addition to giving a boost to your vitality. This pranayama is enormously beneficial for depression and stress.

Conventionally, yoga consists of eight limbs. Though people generally consider just the physical aspect or asanas as yoga, it is practically the third stage. The eight limbs of yoga and their benefits are briefly described below:

  • Yama: The attitude we adopt towards people and things outside ourselves is called yama.
  • Niyama: The attitude towards ourselves is called niyama.

Both of the above stages are not actions or exercises. Rather, they are mainly concerned with the way we utilize our energy with respect to others and our own selves.

  • Asana: The comfortable and steady posture of yoga is called asana. It takes care of the physical body.
  • Pranayama: Regulation of breath in yoga is called pranayama. It gives calmness and steadiness to the mind.
  • Pratyahara: Pratyahara prepares the mind for meditation by diverting it inwards. At this stage, mind stays in between externalization and internalization.
  • Dharana: This sixth stage of yoga requires full concentration. Here, the seeker concentrates wholly on a single task or point in which s/he gets completely engrossed.
  • Dhyana: Prolonged duration of dharana is called dhyana or meditation. It is the engrossment of mind on one point or object or an idea.
  • Samadhi: Super conscious awareness or Samadhi is the final stage of yoga. In Samadhi – the sadhaka, the process of dhyana and the point of dhyana become one.

Every limb of yoga is extremely beneficial for overall well-being and empowers you to discover the ecstatic nature of the inner being.

You may also like this……Effective Ways to Improve Your Eyesight